Mount Kilimanjaro: Location and Country

Mount Kilimanjaro is the tallest peak in Africa and one of the most iconic landmarks on the continent. It is a popular destination for climbers and visitors from around the world. This article will provide an overview of the mountain’s location and what country it belongs to.

Where is Mount Kilimanjaro?

Mount Kilimanjaro is located in northeastern Tanzania, near the Kenyan border. It is situated in the Kilimanjaro Region of Tanzania, which is one of the country’s 30 administrative regions. The mountain is composed of three distinct volcanic cones and is part of the Kilimanjaro National Park, established in 1973 to protect the area’s flora and fauna.

Kilimanjaro is the highest mountain in Africa, with a summit elevation of 5,895 meters (19,341 ft) above sea level. The mountain’s height makes it a prominent feature on the African landscape, visible from many locations in both Tanzania and Kenya.

Kilimanjaro has been a popular destination for climbers since the late 1800s and it is estimated that over 30,000 people attempt to summit the peak each year. It is widely considered to be one of the most accessible high summits in the world and can be climbed without the need for technical mountaineering equipment.

What Country Does Kilimanjaro Belong To?

Mount Kilimanjaro is located within the borders of Tanzania, making it part of the East African country’s territory. Tanzania is located in the continent of Africa and is bordered by eight countries: Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique.

Tanzania is home to a population of approximately 60 million people and has a total land area of 945,087 square kilometers (364,900 sq mi). The country is divided into 30 regions, of which Kilimanjaro is one. The region is home to the Chagga people, who have lived in the area for centuries and are believed to be the first people to climb the mountain.

Tanzania is renowned for its stunning landscapes and its diverse wildlife. The country is home to many national parks and reserves, including the Serengeti National Park and Ngorongoro Conservation Area, both of which are located near Mount Kilimanjaro.

Mount Kilimanjaro is a majestic peak in East Africa, situated in the Kilimanjaro Region of Tanzania. The mountain is the highest point in Africa, with a summit elevation of 5,895 meters above sea level, and is a popular destination for climbers and visitors from around the world. Kilimanjaro is part of the territory of Tanzania, an East African country known for its diverse wildlife and stunning landscapes.

About The Author

Chat with expert
Need Help?
Hello 👋
Can we help you?